Westar Institute

Institutional Affiliation
Charter Member

Lane C. McGaughy

Institutional Affiliation

Geo. H. Atkinson Professor of Religious and Ethical Studies emeritus

Willamette University, Salem, Oregon


• A.B., Ohio Wesleyan University • B.D., Drew Theological Seminary • M.A., Vanderbilt University • Ph.D., Vanderbilt University


Lane C. McGaughy is the Geo. H. Atkinson Professor of Religious and Ethical Studies emeritus at Willamette University in Salem, Oregon. He is the author of two books on New Testament Greek and numerous scholarly articles in academic journals and anthologies. Along with colleagues Arthur Dewey, Roy Hoover, and Daryl Schmidt, he published https://westarinstitute.org/store/the-authentic-letters-of-paul/https://westarinstitute.org/store/the-authentic-letters-of-paul/(Polebridge, 2010). With his mentor, https://westarinstitute.org/membership/westar-fellows/fellows-directory/robert-w-funk/, he worked on numerous projects including a four-volume Greek grammar, the establishment of the Religious Studies Department at the University of Montana, the founding of Scholars Press, the development of Polebridge Press and Westar Institute, and the reorganization of the Society of Biblical Literature. Lane is Executive Director Emeritus of the Westar Institute.

• Willamette University Faculty Study Award, 1996• United Methodist Distinguished Teaching Award, 1991–1992, 2006-2007• National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Fellowship, 1985• National Science Foundation Summer Fellowship, 1971• Phi Beta Kappa, 2012

Academic Appointments

• Geo. H. Atkinson Professor of Religious and Ethical Studies and Professor of Religion, Willamette University, 1981–2007• Visiting Associate Professor of History and Cotner Professor of Religion, University of Nebraska–Lincoln, 1977• Instructor, Assistant, and Associate Professor of Religious Studies and History, University of Montana, 1969–1981

Professional Service

• Chair, Westar Institute Board of Directors, 2004-2009• Chair, Classical Studies Program, Willamette University, 1997– 2003• Chair, Faculty Council, Willamette University, 1992–1994• Chair, Willamette University Reaccreditation Self-Study Steering Committee, 1990–1991• Chair, Religious Studies Department, Willamette University, 1989–1992, 1997–2003• Editor, FORUM: A Journal of the Foundations & Facets of Western Culture,1989–1990• Board of Ordained Ministry, Oregon-Idaho Conference of the United Methodist Church, 1986–1992• Board of Directors, Polebridge Press, 1985–2012• Editor, Willamette Journal of the Liberal Arts, 1983–1988• Board of Directors, Alton L. Collins Retreat Center, Eagle Creek, Oregon, 1982–2005• Montana Committee for the Humanities, 1981• Faculty Senate, University of Montana, 1980–1981• President of Pacific Northwest Region of the American Academy of Religion and Society of Biblical Literature, 1974–1975; Executive Secretary, 1982–1985