Attribution: Barbara Hampson

Ph.D., McGill University

M.Div., Vancouver School of Theology

B.A., University of Winnipeg

David Galston

David Galston is the Executive Director of the Westar Institute and the Ecumenical Chaplain at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario, where he is also an Adjunct Professor of Philosophy. A co-founder and Academic Advisor of the SnowStar Institute of Religion, a Fellow of the Jesus Seminar, and a United Church minister, David has written several articles and led many workshops on the question of the historical Jesus, the future of Christianity, and the problems of Christian theology in light of the historical Jesus. He is the author of God's Human Future (Polebridge, 2016), Embracing the Human Jesus (Polebridge Press, 2012), and Archives and the Event of God (McGill-Queens Press, 2011). David holds a PhD in the Philosophy of Religion from McGill University.


Academic Credentials

  • Ph.D., McGill University
  • M. Div., Vancouver School of Theology
  • B. A., University of Winnipeg

Academic Appointments

  • Westar Academic Director (2015-2017) and Executive Director (2017-)
  • Adjunct Professor of Philosophy, Brock University, St. Catharines (2012-)
  • Co-founder (2000), President (2000-2007), and Academic Adviser (2007-20015) of The SnowStar Institute of Religion, Windsor, Ontario
  • Principal of Iona College, University of Windsor, 1996-2000
  • University Chaplain, McGill University, 1990-1996

Ecclesiastical Experience

  • Executive Director of the Quest Learning Centre, United Church of Canada, 2001-
  • Minister in the United Church of Canada, 1985-2001

Awards and Honors

  • Humanities Research Grant, McGill University, 1993
  • DAAD Scholarship, 1991
  • Graduate Prize in Religious Studies, McGill University, 1991
  • Amelia Elliot Prize for Graduate Studies, McGill University, 1990
  • George Harrison Prize for Pastoral Theology, Vancouver, 1985
  • Musgrave Prize for History, Vancouver, 1984
  • General Proficiency Scholarship, Winnipeg, 1981
  • Louis J. Reycraft Prize for Religious Studies, Winnipeg, 1981